A gastronomic journey through Vietnam

When Vietnam says Xin Chao,  I couldn’t resist the lure of this far flung South East Asian country, little did I know that my week here will also take me on a gastronomic  journey even with the umpteen restrictions I had….(I mean the plant eater versus the meat eater)..

Of all the books in the world, the best stories are found between the pages of a passport and when u can just pull up a chair, taste and join in, life becomes endlessly delicious….it’s not always Michelin star restaurants that tantalize your tastebuds…the humble roadside eatery or a food cart with its wares piled high can pull this of too.

7D9ED4DF-EB6F-4F3C-9F43-138249B72273

Our discovery in Hanoi, Halong Bay and  Mai Chau of the nuances of Vietnamese cuisine confirmed that flavours induced by fresh herbs didn’t require hours down the supermarket aisles….the basil, lemongrass, ginger, birdseye red chilies for the fire and Saigon cinnamon for subtlety….the list is endless of local produce. The visual treat of our meal was confirmed that dining for connoisseurs was through sight, smell and taste…the textures were balanced, the colors and presentation enticing and of course the tastes that’s still linger on in memory.

Although the airline had the ever popular Vietnamese food on its menu, I stuck to the continental fare so that I could experience the authenticity from a kitchen in Vietnam. My first taste of food was the cold passion fruit mocktail and a dish of sweets that I was offered at checkin in the hotel.  The ice cold mocktail was the right balance of  flavour, the refreshing sweetness of the fresh passionfruit and the sour after taste that leaves you craving for more sweet.  This balance and burst of two flavours was the perfect thirst quencher on a hot and humid day (everyday). Interesting offering in the bowl next to my cold towel caught my eyes…and as I popped one of these pearls into my mouth I was trying to sense what it was…a sweet rush of sugar and felt like I was biting into a chewy gel…until I couldn’t hold my curiosity any longer and I was told these were candied lotus roots. Oh what glee for my sweet tooth was craving more and I shamelessly carried this bowl with me to my room, but not before a generous top up by the most friendly receptionist. The sad part was I couldn’t find these in the markets to bring some back with me.

29F061A7-7253-4FA6-9945-4D4163436895

Over the next two days as I discovered the sights around Hanoi, my food intrigue continued…the road side eateries were frequented by all and from the crowds you could see the more popular ones….it wasn’t just the drinks (local beers and cocktails) that were popular, but so were the various combinations of rice, fish, meat chicken and vegetables. There must have been a thousand places that had the Vietnamese Pho on its menu as did some of the eateries proudly tempt passersby to the Bun Cha ( a pork based dish) and the most popular Vietnamese spring roll also known as the Goi Cuon.

9A2F2B96-61DF-4AD0-8EBB-C636106186DDA2CE6F1E-DB68-41BD-9F49-289C428C9A4D

Sit down restaurants seemed to be doing a roaring business as well and the many many cooking classes around was just a hint of how mystical this cuisine was…as we enjoyed a few lessons ourselves, the question that I had, were all these people going to go home and try these dishes they learnt?

E953B2B0-09F6-4924-8B8A-03CADFC6BBAD
My creation of Pho and a stir fry at home, a twist to what I learnt in Hanoi

The downside to this delectable cuisine is their generous use of fish sauce, shrimp paste and meat broth that makes this slightly less interesting for a staunch vegetarian.

Speaking to one of the chefs at a cooking class, he confirmed that they do have alternatives for vegetarians however it’s not so common as the everyday Vietnamese cuisine is all about balancing the five flavours of sweet, sour, bitter, spicy and salt with the yin and the yang of food. The cooking techniques could vary and from fried, to pan roasted, to battered and deep fried, to sautéed, stir fry and slow cooked broths  and steamed dishes…of so many techniques and this was not for those who want to spend no more than  2 minutes in the kitchen.

93B639CF-1BD0-4CF4-895E-B0EE95C14B8578A8275F-7464-4977-8E7F-9F3E4097AE5F

Another interesting cooking method I came across on my delectable journey through this countryside was a method of cooking in bamboo shoots…rice, fish and I’m sure other interesting things went into this form of cooking. Cleaned and soaked rice was filled into a green bamboo shoot, sealed and placed into the fire. After some time we were presented with an interesting log of rice that was cooked to perfection, had to be eaten hot to enjoy the woody flavour of bamboo and it was full of glutionous starch as the rice wasn’t drained.

1AEC94CC-8446-4157-8C90-1DFD20368B30
The rice cooked in bamboo
F95C4B59-17DF-48F8-A967-0D4C64218052
Fish steamed in bamboo

Whilst cruising Halong Bay, the cruise liner kept up to the eclectic mix of guests onboard and stayed true to a fusion of regional specialities that were so cleverly morphed with an international spread.   The presentation and the variety was fit for a king and yet I missed the actual essence of local gourmet…what was this holiday turning out to be?

ED67846E-1E93-42DD-A740-9BEEE12DF8EC
A vegetarian version of the Pho
3786083B-298F-4690-8634-C3A412265E90
Local catch ….lots of fish
8666FCBA-BAE1-46DF-9236-518C81488B68
A fusion dessert on the cruise
ADEBDE70-0C2B-455F-BAC5-42D9D96E4560
Mocktails with local fruits
93B639CF-1BD0-4CF4-895E-B0EE95C14B85
The salads bursting with the 5 flavours and the yin yang balance

With my sweet tooth, I was looking forward to the sweet fare that I would indulge in on this trip, but the ever famous moong bean paste was not to my liking…so instead it was fresh fruit, bucket loads of lemongrass and ginger coolers, lots of sticky rice cooked in coconut cream and tapioca jelly puddings.

D7C6F8D8-1336-4C8F-A896-B93B3E37650A
The lemongrass and ginger ice tea
3A4D3B0B-6E05-40BA-907A-81F0CA11080A
Local mango in a dessert

There are many variations to the Che and all other Vietnamese dishes, but in a week, we could only eat and drink so much without feeling like a glutton, to come back confirming that “you have to taste the culture to understand it!”

 

Leave a comment